The 26th Ojo Awards Luncheon

After a hiatus of 2 years, the latest luncheon which drew well over seventy people was one of our best ever.

To our winners-heartiest congratulations, and to the other nominees, we send along our thanks and say to them: Wait’ll Next year!

Best Humor:

  •   Neil McKinnon for “Pains, Trains, and Wildfires.”
  •   Tom Nussbaum for “Can You Hear Me Now?”
  •   Larry Kolczak for “Fidelity, Wherefore Art Thou?”
Neil McKinnon

Best Profile:

  • Keira Morgan for: “Rachel McMillen a Life of Sea Changes.”
  • Shelly Stokes for: “Service with Love”
  • Daria Hilton for: “Maria Del Carmen Romero Avina
Daria Hilton

Best Fiction:

  • Maggie Van Ostrand for “Juanta and the President”
  • Ardelle Holden for “The Soldier and the Scarf”
  • Margaret Van Every for “The Post Office Makes Three.”
  • Mel Goldberg for “Mimi Learns to Bargain”
  • Robert Bruce Drynan for “The Night of the Gypsy Boy”
Robert Bruce Drynan

The Best Poem

  • Susa Silvermarie
  • Judy Dykstra-Brown
  • Marty Bojan
  • John Thomas Dodds for the poem: ¿Que paso?
John Thomas Dodds

Best Column:

  • Lakeside Living by Carol Bradley
  • Life in the Laugh Lane by Scott Jason Jones
  • Vexations & Conundrums by Katina Pontikes

And we have a tie:  Carol Bradley for Lakeside Living and Katina Pontinkes for Vexations & Conundrums

Katina Pontikes and Carol Bradley

Best Feature:

  • The Magic of Lakeside by Don Buedreau
  • The Small Town That Produced a President Dr. Lorin Swinehart
  • The Fun Side of the Wall; Baby Boomer Retirement in MX by Blue
  • Where is Little Martin by Sergio Casas
Dr. Lorin Swinehart

Best Historical:

  • Michael Hogan: “The Soldiers of St. Patrick”
  • Herbert Piekow: “TheTruth about Pancho Villa”
  • Dale Hoyt Palfrey: “The World’s Longest Love Affair”
Michael Hogan

Best Book Review:

  • Jeanine Kitchel: “The Jungle of Stone.”
  • Herbert Piekow: “Living is No Laughing Matter” by L. Michael Hogan
  • Kathy Koches: “The Mexico Lunch Party”
Herbert Piekow

Best Mexican Cultural:

  • “The Night of the Dead”- Lives on in Patzcuaro. By Carol Bowman
  • “The Conquest of Mexico – Re-examined” by Shep Lencheck
  • “Celebrating dia de los Inpendencia bby Patricia Guy
Carol Bowman


  • Janice Kimball 2009
Janice Kimball

Lifetime Achievement Award: 

Alejandro Grattan-Dominguez 32 years as the Editor-in-Chief of the Ojo del Lago.

Alejandro Grattan-Dominguez

For more information about Lake Chapala visit: www.chapala.com

Ojo Del Lago
Latest posts by Ojo Del Lago (see all)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *